Discus in Planted Tank

Forum dedicated to the Discus fish.
SCORPIO
Site Admin
Site Admin

Discus in Planted Tank

Unread post by SCORPIO »

I have been keeping planted tank for 6 years. After using trial and error method, I got success in growing plants.
In February, 2010, I came in contact with Venky Rajskher Reddy in an ‘Aquarist Meet’ at his residence. He is Discus Keeper. First time, I saw so much beautiful Discus fishes. They were amazing and fascinating me. And I did not know when Discus made a room in my heart. I started acquire knowledge from books and other hobbyists. Most of the hobbyists, daily changes upto 90% of water. It is a very difficult task in planted tanks. So I rejected the idea of keeping discus in planted tank.
My wife Sangita also likes Discus fish. On her birthday, I decided to bring a pair of Discus. I contact to Venky Rajskeher Reddy and he had given me a full grown Blue Turquoise Discus pair.

My first Discus in a semi planted tank

I introduce my first pair of discus in semi planted 120X45X45 cm tank along with some other fishes. In first few days, I started 50% water change in alternate days. After some days, i introduced six more discus fish with blue turquoise. Most of the aquarists are keeping discus in between 28-30 degree celcius temperature. But this temperature range does not suit to most of the plants. Plants need temperature between 23-27 degree celcius. All of the books and discus expert do not allow keeping discus in planted tanks due to following reasons:

Differentiate in Temperature requirements: Discus needs temperature range from 28 to 32 degree Celsius while this temperature does not allow growing most of the plants. They need temperature range from 23 to 27 degree Celsius for better growth.

Water change schedule: Discus needs frequent water change but it is not possible in planted tanks due to CO2 and fertilizers supplements.